Is your art a mirror or a flashlight? Is it a “Thermometer” or “Thermostat”?

Does it reflect what’s in the heart already or change the surrounding?

  • A mirror reflects what’s in front of it. The viewer sees what’s already there.
  • A flashlight sheds light in darkness. The viewer gains new insight that is useful to moving ahead.

I took note of what one of my “Art Lessons From God!” subscribers said a few weeks ago when he pointed out his observation on Aaron creating the golden calf in the book of Exodus:

During their time in the wilderness, the Israelites became restless while Moses was away receiving the Ten Commandments from God.

They strongly encouraged Aaron to use his skills to create a golden calf that they could use to worship. Aaron used his artistic ability to create an art piece that reflected the sinful nature that was already in the hearts of the people.

My subscriber pointed out the following:

  • The people were already disobedient and had sin in their hearts.
  • They expressed that they wanted Aaron to create a golden calf, a creative work that would give life to the disobedience that was within their hearts.
  • Aaron complied, pleasing the people with his talent rather than pleasing God.

It really reminds me especially of how many secular musicians reflect what’s in the hearts of their listeners.

How many music videos reflect the immorality of the world, and by doing so, perpetuate or even escalate that immorality in the hearts of their listeners.

In my youth, I experienced a period where my art was somewhat racy, art that could have evoked sinful thoughts and emotions already in the mind and hearts of my audience.

I now try to be led of the Spirit of God as I create, in hopes that my art doesn’t make the audience “look”, buts helps them to “see”. That doesn’t mean that every work that we do be biblical themes or “preachy”. It simply means that works of art that we create under the direction of the Spirit of God accomplish more that is important to God’s plan than art we create otherwise.

Share your comments and give us your take on it…

