This latest addition to the series I started called “Artists In Action”, where I interview Christian visual artists who are actually working in their craft.

The interview today is with artist and animator Robert McCoy. I stumbled across Robert’s animated film short “Everyday Life” which is a stunning depiction of the rapture. See it for yourself, then check out our interview:

1. Tell us who you are and what you do as an artist:

My Name is Robert McCoy I’m an a Christian artist. I draw, paint, animate and do pretty much anything that an artist does.

2. Now tell us about your artistic/creative background:

I’m basically self-taught. After high school I went to a technical school for 2 years and received an Associates degree in Graphic design and I returned for 2 more years for Multimedia. From a young age I remember sitting with my father and watching as he drew different comic characters and then he would tell me to copy them, I would also copy my older sisters drawings as well. As I grew and matured I began really teaching myself things like lighting anatomy and things like that.

3. What role does God play in your life and in your work?

Well I like to think that God is my work! It hasn’t always been that way. Before God transformed me 3 and a half years ago I was basically drawing the same things that any young male my age would. I would draw women, ninjas, fighters and video game characters. At the time I thought it was cool, but after my conversion, God opened my eyes to the truth. It was all a waste of time! After being born again God began giving me some of the best ideas that I ever had! They were exciting, engrossing, and were things that I knew people would get excited about, especially children, and teens. God is my source!

4. What advice can you give the rest of us?

Strive to have your art affect lives instead of looking cool. I would also advise yielding yourself completely to God. God can take your talent and transform it and increase it like you wouldn’t believe. He’ll begin to teach you how to express yourself better, encourage you to practice more so you can better express the awesome ideas that he will begin to pour into your spirit. One of the great things that I love about God is that his desire for quality has now become my desire. So many Christian projects today seem to be lacking in quality. However, God is able to give you a strong desire for quality.

5. What’s the latest project that you’re most excited about?
<!–[if !supportLineBreakNewLine]–>
<!–[endif]–>

At the moment I’m working on an animated movie based on a biblical story. It’s been in production for a few years now and I’m really looking forward to it’s completion within the coming months. The main goal of this project is to translate the excitement of the bible into a medium that kids and teens can get excited about. 6. Tell us about your unique use of new media (web, video, etc.) with your work.
Well I use animation a lot in my art. I also, completed a little movie that I use to testify about Jesus Christ. As the world continues to change and evolve I want to be able to use animation to really bring the truths of the gospel to a new generation in a new and exciting way. Through the visual medium we really have a great opportunity to be able to teach and educate people about the truth. 7. Anything else you’d like to add, feel free:
Lastly, I just want to say that I truly believe that there is a new era that is being ushered in. Young Christian artists, who aren’t afraid to use their talents and skills to communicate the gospel of Christ. I truly believe that the world hungers for something more than the nonsense that is being displayed on television the internet, video games, etc, and we as Christians have what the world needs, the message of Christ. Through our talents and gifts we are going to express the message of salvation to a dying world.
Be sure to post a comment about Robert’s work and/or his story!


